This work is a string orchestra meditation on WH Auden’s famous poem of the same title. This work was composed to enter theFauxharmonic Orchestra’s Adagio competition. The purpose of the competition was to write a piece which might be hailed as the new Barber’s Adagio. While I wouldn’t pretend that this is anywhere near as good as Barber’s iconic work, I hope you enjoy it.

Title: Stop All the Clocks

Completed: November 2007

Orchestration: Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello, Double Bass

Running Time: 9:15

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.